Snow’s Bin Cage.

When I first read “Bin Cage” and then continued to see references to this I thought …”What the heck are they talking about?” And THEN saw photos of many many many of them over at Hamster Central …. Hmm. I thought – well, that’s clever! Inexpensive. Smart! But UGLY. I would NEVER want a set up like that!! It’s a plastic storage container with cut outs and meshed over with hardware cloth. Light, portable, and depending on how big you go – much  more spacious than the majority of available hamster cages on the market in this country.

But it was so …unsightly. I thought …I’d rather spend all the money and have something attractive to show for it! But then when I had to separate my Robo brothers I looked around my living room and new I could not get another aquarium stand and tank unless I gave up getting the Syrian I wanted so much (reserving space for a large cage). What would I do? I kept Snow in a 10 gallon with a platform temporarily until I figured out what to do or what I could find. And then a lovely gal over on the forum posted her first bin cage here. I was so impressed! I mean, what an adorable cage! I instantly wanted to make my own. I completely stole her idea and began my own.

The only trouble is that it’s easier said than done. It’s labor to cut through the plastic with limited tools. It takes time. But I enjoyed the challenge. Creating something. And it turning out so cute! But until this weekend arrives I have to wait to do the bulk of the work which will be the very front cut out. For now there is decent airflow and so I’ve gone ahead and moved Snow into it. His reaction was pleasing. He has been much happier and active and using up every centimeter of the cage – zipping around as he does.

2 thoughts on “Snow’s Bin Cage.

  1. Pingback: Finished My 1st Bin Cage! | Hammy Happenings

  2. I’m very happy to find this page. I wanted to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to look at new stuff on your site.

Leave a Reply

