Downsizing Bob. For a good reason.

The Marchioro Kevin 82 Mouse Cage

I ordered this cage today after discussing it with my husband for a week. It’s been me that has been apprehensive. It was expensive. It seems ridiculous to get another cage when I have such a great one already (The American version of the Mamble). But I am super excited to get it. I know I said I’d rather a hamster of mine have more space than they need than less than they need but this cage is I think JUST right, safe  size for a Bob. 32 inches by 20 inches by 14 or 15 inches in height. It has shelving but if I don’t like it I have plenty of my own platforms. It’s not too high but it’ll fit his 11” Wodent Wheel and I believe it will fit his Flying Saucer 12” fine as well.

Downsizing from the Mamble to the Kevin is a must in my opinion. And this is why.
1. I think he had a fall in the Mamble. One of the hammock hooks was askew from where he’s been chewing at them while up in them. I found that after I saw it like that – from that day forward he was not really into going up the platforms like he did before. He was acting stressed out. He’s alright physically though and I can say that with surety now as it’s been over a week. No limping or obvious signs of pain or injury.

2. He is getting more and more feral like. When I first brought him home he was cuddly and curious and so inquisitive and really into us. Since being in the huge cage he’s withdrawn more and runs from us. Once I catch him gently he’s fine with me. It’s like …”OH, alright. Have a feel then!” But he didn’t used to be like that! He used to come right to us and want to have attention. He used to come up for a treat before the hammock episode as well but now I have to hand them to him near a hideaway.

So, there are few Syrian appropriate sized cages in this country. The Mamble or AKA Ferret Kit 100, Kevin 82, and some other cage from FOP site – another Italian made cage which is more like a plastic aquarium cage which I wasn’t at all interested in. I chose the Mamble originally out of the few because it was a lot of space for the price. But ultimately, the highness of it – just too high. Makes me nervous he’ll fall again. That he’s fallen quite a bit and I didn’t know it.  And it’s disconnecting us from our hammy.

My husband just said “Get another cage. Just do it. It’s worth it.” He says this also because he knows I *WILL* have ferrets again one day and that cage is super appropriate for ferrets.

I also wanted to move Bob upstairs to my room and place his cage on my dresser. A not so high dresser. This is to give him silence during the day (my 2 year old is so loud!) and to be able to spend more time with him in peace at night when I go to bed earlier. I think his stress lately is more than just the cage – which since the suspected fall he seems to use very little of. He mostly just hides away or goes to his wheel and then rush back to his house and eats inside it. A big change from how he used to be.

I digress again – to be able to fit him in my room he’ll need a smaller cage anyway.

So, there we have it. I expect to receive it sometime this week or early next. Petstore.com delivers pretty fast in my experience.

I’ll be sure to take pictures as soon as I get it and set it up. Oh, I adored that Mamble. It’s a fantastic cage. Just wasn’t working for Bob. *sigh*
It’ll have a critter to house again one day. I’m sure of it.

Now – this brings us to the question of : Why not a Bin Cage oh Bin Cage maker woman?”

My wrists are shot. It’s taking forever for them to not feel achy. I am bound to have arthritis due to strong genetics so it might be very early signs of that. Also weather change. And maybe some carpel tunnel from computer usage. But though I LOVE bin cages I dread the thought of making another. That 2nd one I did took it all out of me. It’s not THAT hard if you have fancy tools to use. Like electric saws and such. But for me it was a bit of labor.

Also, I just really wanted a cage for Bob. A sturdy cage. Bars. I can attach his ledges and such to it. *shrugs* I’m particular and peculiar like that. But to save money I would have gone the bin route. I adore my bin cages… and stacking is so great for space-saving. But Alas …I need a break!

I have a good husband. He knows I don’t spend much on myself. The kids yes. But not me. So, this might be for the pets but in extension it’s for myself as my hammys are my sweet, little, furry, therapy friends.

Leave a Reply

