Where I Just Gush Again About Hamster Cages

photo(47)

I’m afraid this post will be a babble outlet for myself -pretty much discussing my love of my commercial cages and bin cages. I found a good deal on a hammocks off Amazon. It’s the Zebra print fleece by Ware and they were just under 6 dollars a piece. I have Prime so they arrived in less than two days. I am impressed by them. They are large and could cover more area but plastic shelves are behind them so they are forming a little half tunnel across the front. It didn’t take long after putting them in that I peeked into the room and was surprised to see Penny just chilling out in the one to the left. She likes it as a lookout but also a poo flinging spot. Her little zen hammock.

The wood house is from Strawberry’s Tamburino Natura. It’s meant for Guinea Pigs but works well as a platform and a house for a big Syrian hamster. She has a sand bath (I use Aragonite Sand) and Swheat Scoop for her litter. A 12 inch wheel and a couple of pieces of small driftwood to climb on as well the bendy logs hideaway. Two shelves with multiple ledges that you cannot see behind the hammocks that lead to the shelves and a rat sized tube connecting her from one corner shelf to the other. And then a few more ledges that she can choose to exit the hammocks to get down if she doesn’t want to go back the way of the shelves. She seems to like to have multiple ways to exit everywhere.

I can’t say enough good about this cage. The only thing you have to be careful about is the height because hamsters aren’t the greatest climbers even though they can and will climb. They often are clumsy and take a misstep and fall. And you have to be mindful of it when you set up. With Penny – she is so all over the place there was a need for all these levels and hammocks and ledges. I even put dangle toys on the sides to discourage her from climbing those spots – not that it worked mind you.

 

I’ve also been refocusing on my bin cages. I have only two but have plans to make another to put on top of Snow’s bin to convert into a double-decker. This time I plan to connect them from bottom of one and lid of the other and with tubes. I don’t feel that Snow needs the extra space and I don’t think that Snow could climb up the tubes at this point in his life. I wouldn’t leave it connected once made. I just am thinking to the future. In the future I plan to have a Detolf hack for Robo’s. And a double-decker bin for a Chinese hamster. This bin! (Which I redecorated with new tape a friend pointed me in the direction of! It’s retro like – floral yellow on green).

photo(46)

The great thing about bin cages is that not only are they a great personal accomplishment – you made a wonderful sized home for your hamster – tender loving care – but you can fashion it how you want it to look. With decorative tape or whatever you can come up with creatively to make it personalized and pleasing to your individual eye. I had been so unhappy with this bin because unlike this bin  I loved my first bin which has the Zebra tape – wouldn’t change that tape for the world. But didn’t want two just the same. I wanted another that was different. But I couldn’t find tape that looked right to me. Until THIS tape (I also changed out the multi-color thicker cable ties with yellow skinnier cable ties). And suddenly I have this beautiful bin for me and for my hammy. Snow doesn’t care about how it looks of course. But he does care about the wonderful amount of space he has in there. Bin cages don’t have to look ugly! They might possibly be your favorite.

As my friend (who pointed out the tape) said – she looks at bins everywhere and thinks – that would make a great cage for my hamster! It’s so true. Once you’ve made a bin cage you become addicted to the ideas of how to make another and another.

2 thoughts on “Where I Just Gush Again About Hamster Cages

  1. Hi there, someone from facebook gave me your contact information on a forum that you are on. Unfortantely, I couldn’t figure out how to send you a message. I just bought a hamster yesterday, and am struggling to find a great cage for him. We bought a basic starter one at Petsmart. We have a Syrian Hamster. Do you have any advice? Feel free to email me at daniel.deanna418@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

