Bob recieved his custom quilted hammocks from Rittles And Bittles

photo(89)

I have bought a quilted hammock from Holly from Rittles and Bittles before and put it in Strawberry’s cage and a pretty good few shots of it in action are here. But I really couldn’t wait to have custom hammocks made for Bob and Penny. So, Bob’s turn was next (order of when I adopted them and not favoritism I swear!)

Communication with Holly is amazing. She asks for colors and ideas of what you have in mind. She sorts through her collection of fabrics and with an artistic eye will put together some swatches and send you a photo of what she has in mind based on what one has described. And really, you have got to let this lady use her eye for you because she really knows how to put together visually pleasing pieces. Step by step she’ll share photos and descriptions of the process which is really exciting and interesting. You realize that this isn’t some assembly line stuff. This really is a process and not done with haste. Quilting is truly an art form!

And I feel that I haven’t just developed a client and service type relationship but made a new friend! These hammocks began as furnishings for her lovely ratties! And from there the idea that other rodents would appreciate her creations is what created her Etsy business.

These hammocks are sturdy and beautiful. Here are Bob’s triangle hammocks and an up close shot of the detail of his square! (the bottom of the hammocks are a durable fleece so you could use either side you wish. I like the fleece for the sturdy backing but prefer to use the decorative quilted side for the show.)

hammocks

fleece

And here he is enjoying himself from his look out. He will sit and groom and gaze out at the world beyond his cage for quite awhile several times in the evening and night. Here he contemplates life.

bob corner

For the two corner/triangle hammocks I had begun by using the larger clips but changed to a smaller type to fit his cage better.

And what is sweetest of all is that as we’ve communicated a lot in a personable way I told her the story of how Bob got his name. Both Holly and I share a love for Doctor Who and she in fact has had a couple of Doctors and a Rose. I had planned to name Bob “Doctor” but my son intervened with his own fandom! And as a surprise gift I received these darling two hammocks to honor Bob. This is sentimental because it locks in time when my son loved Bob the Builder and gave Bob his name. Which was much more fitting than Doctor anyway.

bob hammocks cage bbuilder

Which as you see I had to incorporate into his cage as my son insisted (he was infatuated with the hammocks immediately and squealed delightfully when he saw them) and I think they are just darling for Bob. I was going to use them alternately but we were impatient. And so the Bob hammock is under his shelf and the other makes a wonderful banner. I am contemplating how to attach it to his cage from the outside right now unless I can put it inside in some way. I have done a couple of cage rearranges already and haven’t found a way as of yet.

Here is a very brief video of Bob. As I was multitasking – attending to the kids and putting in hammocks and etc I only took video of the very end of his initial romp around the hammocks. He was going crazy at first. Going from hammock to hammock and down and then up again and then into his wheel and then back into his hammocks. You would be amazed how Syrians do love hammocks! They are perhaps my two Syrian’s FAVORITE cage accessories or I would go so far as to refer to them as toys – after the wheel!

Please don’t waste your money and hammy’s time on commercial hammocks. The fleece is low quality and there is no TLC in them. They don’t last in the washes despite how one uses gentle/hand wash cycles. They aren’t usually attractive. If you like to spoil your critters like I do and love for things to be personalized to be unique and fit yours and your hamster’s personality AND be incredibly well made to last years then consider Rittles and Bittles. She works with you, communicates fabulously, shares her process, and ships quickly.

I am an incredibly pleased repeat client! Penny – you are up next!

4 thoughts on “Bob recieved his custom quilted hammocks from Rittles And Bittles

    • Oh yes! Pink of course! Penny’s will have a hint of hot pink in it most likely! Zebra and Damask (black and white) and hot pink to set it off! I am so excited!

      I think when you have saved up you will love to look at the hammocks everyday – they are so beautiful and best of all so well made. All the cheap hammocks I’ve gotten get so plucked and frizzy and I’m afraid they’ll get nails caught in them. I don’t worry about that with this material. She uses such a great material.

  1. Marquelle…it is COMPLETELY worth it! Both Smudge and Dariwn have hammocks from there & they love them! They spend tons of time in them. Not that my hams are chewers in any way, but the quality of these is amazing! 🙂

  2. Annie is currently hammock-less, and after seeing Bob there I feel like I am depriving her! He looks like he really loves them 😀

Leave a Reply

