D.I.Y Platforms

This one I have planned and have been impatient to do! Make my own hamster platforms!

20130815-163800.jpg
I went to Michael’s Crafts and bought these wood shapes and plaques all of which was under a buck each. I cut to size a Woodsies inch thick dowel rod and then sanded them. My 3 year old and I painted them with non-toxic kid paint. Then I elaborated more with paint to give it more personal touches. Then I drilled holes in the base and the dowels to glue and bolt them to the base. And used both wood glue and hot glue to attach the platform shapes to the tops of the rods. Then I used a sealant over it to waterproof it (pee proof).

20130815-163849.jpg
Bob’s is obviously Mushrooms. And Penny’s is obviously hers! The piece that has the bear like shape (meant to make it more like a hamster) has an imperfection that makes it seem like something stained it but that’s alright.

I am letting them air out for a few days before I put them in their homes.

20130815-163922.jpg

20130815-163931.jpg

20130815-163936.jpg

20130815-163942.jpg

20130815-163959.jpg

This was the original inspiration – these can only be bought from the UK:

20130815-164117.jpg

2 thoughts on “D.I.Y Platforms

  1. What wonderful ideas. I love the spoons. And, the mushroom pedestals reminds me Super Mario video games which is awesome.

    Someday, I want to make my guys (rats) a fake television like they have at the pet store for hamsters.

    Anyways, I just wanted to share a recent cage accessory thread from a rat forum which might give you some ideas. Each species have their own preferred modes of play, but i often find great ideas on other species’ forums. http://www.goosemoose.com/rfc/index.php?topic=4102614.msg5076011#msg5076011

    • Sorry I just found this in the Spam folder!! I didn’t even think of Super Mario!!!! Lol awesome!!! Man I was addicted to that game as a kid!

      I just checked out that forum. Even if I couldn’t use them for hams I file it away for knowledge in case I ever get rats. I love all the rodents and rabbits out there. If I could I’d have a menagerie of small animals!!!!

Leave a Reply

