Bob’s Bin Cage – preparing him for our big transition.

As I posted before my family and I will be moving from Maryland to Texas in the late summer or early fall. Between now and then we have a lot to do so one of the first things I got out of the way was the bin cages for all the hamsters and the gerbils. Bins take up less space and travel safer. I had to go smaller for everyone. But I have to be able to fit them all in our vehicles and hotel rooms for up to or over a month.

I posted the Gerbil’s bin with topper. Now this one is Bob’s. He is my long-haired, satin cream Syrian. He is approximately 16 months old. Based on my guestimation he’ll be 2 years old in July.

Periodically I change-up his toys but right now he has a suspension ladder, one customized hammock lovingly quilted by Rittles N Bittles on Etsy, two platforms – one of which is also a house. And a space pod hang out. His 11” Wodent Wheel, and a wooden ladder to reach one of his platforms.

photo 2photo 1

Under one of his platforms is his litter/sand box I made out of a plastic ice-cream container. I cut out a section for him to hope in. The rest remains enclosed and there is no top to it. It’s long and plenty of room for him to move about but narrow as well so it doesn’t take up as much space as his corner litter pans always did. I also have his water bottle in a ceramic holder from Petco because the velcro kept coming unstuck on the sides and his bottle would fall. I got tired of that.

photo 3photo 4

 

It’s a 110 QT Sterilite container. It looks smaller than it really is. But it’s definitely smaller than what he has always had before. But he seems alright about it. Of course once we actually travel I’ll be taking a great deal of things out for his safety. And putting them back in place once we arrive at our final destination. For now though I have it set up to give him more space and more to do.

Leave a Reply

