And we are back online and settled someplace new!

Bob

Sleepy Bob. He’s getting up there but still seems so healthy and most certainly handsome. The older he has become the more glorious his long, satin coat has become. He is my special heartham.

So, we just did an over 2,000 mile drive. Moved halfway across the country. From East Coast to far West Texas! We drove through several states that had 100-102 F temperatures. And oh the humidity! So, on any stop my husband (driving his separate vehicle) would lock his doors with the engine running to keep air conditioning on the fuzzbutts. What little we stopped.

It was so hot that even my energetic little humans didn’t want to stay outside of the nice air conditioned vehicle long. The drive did take us 5 days. And in all of that the hamsters and gerbils were amazing through it all.

Instead of water bottles while the vehicles were moving I gave them hunks of cucumber and apple and celery for hydration. At stops I’d put their bottle back in. And then we stayed in pet friendly motels. I always recommend La Quinta. Though sometimes we had to stop at Best Westerns and the like who have a fee but usually do allow pets. La Quinta allows our furry family members in the rooms without a fee.

I made the bathtub an obstacle course so the furries could get some adventure. All of them seemed to take the vibration of the vehicle, the constant assault of new smells and sounds, and in and out of motel rooms with stride. I’m so proud of them!

Now they are all settled in here in El Paso. And none seem worse for the wear. Though my two robo brothers are definitely becoming more feeble. But that has nothing to do with the trip.

bob's house

Bob is back in the Kevin 82. I do not have a place to put the 40 gallon tank. Bob gets hotter easier than he used to so I wanted to put him in something with alot more ventilation. Bob has always loved this cage. He acted like he was greeting an old friend once I put him in there. For travel he was in a 105 qt Bin cage. So, I know he was pleased to be out of that. And for those I know who are curious  – that beautiful, wild looking quilted hammock was made with TLC and skill by Rittles N Bittles on etsy! Go visit her page!

Gabriel

Gabriel, my Chinese hamster, is back in the Tamburino. He has never been keen on bigger cages. But when I clutter it with a lot of hideaways and climbing toys that he can tunnel under and climb upon he seems right at home. He spent hours awake playing in every inch of his cage once I put him in. I’ve never seen him do that before. He must have been thrilled to be out of his small travel cage as well.

gerbil

My gerbils Lennon and Mercury are still in the smaller gerbilarium I made them. I am brainstorming something bigger for them but as for now they seem content in this.

patch

My Roborovskis Snow and Patch are becoming feeble and slow. Age has come to them. They mostly sleep now. They had trouble climbing around too much and seem to get lost or confused if they are too far from their house. So, they are in 64 qt bin cages. Bins without lids pretty much. Since they can’t climb out and to let in plenty of air flow. They certainly are happy to be in something smaller but not as small as their travel cages were. snow

 

I will take pictures of all my little guys soon to post. It feels good to be back online and settled somewhere new. And we are SO thankful we didn’t lose any of our rodents on such a long, extremely hot, journey.

One thought on “And we are back online and settled someplace new!

Leave a Reply

