Last Post

Sadly, I will not be updating any longer. I kept holding out to see if I would get motivated once again. After the major move and all the eventual passing of all my original zoo (the crew of hammy’s and gerbils I began this blog for/about) I just lost steam. I’ve become busy with a new hobby/learning a new skill: Horse riding. Also, we have mountains here so I hike often. I also feel I’ve covered everything to my knowledge really. I only hope that leaving this blog here the older entries will continue to help those doing web searches for caging and accessory ideas. The original purpose for this blog was about housing critters. Ideas to be efficient, affordable, and the best for hamster/gerbil welfare. I cannot really add anymore to that!

For anyone that is still hanging around to read this thank you so much for helping make me feel as though I was accomplishing something good for hamsters and gerbils. When I did receive comments it was absolutely wonderful to know I reached people and in that – helped the little furry kids in their care.

Give all your fuzz butts a cuddle for me!

8 thoughts on “Last Post

  1. oh I am sad to see you go. I just found your site a few months ago. Your information is very well written and wonderful. I wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  2. Our family bought a hamster 2 weeks ago and with it, the Pet-Store recommended 10 gallon tank. They were professionals, right? I came to your post on Pinterest and was astounded to find that my new baby Syrian needs more room! We all ran out to the store and constructed a beautiful replica of your 110qt bin cage (ours with peacock feather deco tape) providing much room and ventilation for our beloved hammy. All for $23!! He is so delightfully happy with his new abode. Thanks completely to you, this hamster and his new family are thrilled. xoxo forever -JL (wish I could post pics!!)

      • I am so grateful for your website! Thank you for caring so much for our little rodent friends! You’ve given us humans such helpful advice in providing those little guys with happier, more enriching, indoor lives. πŸ™‚

  3. Hello! I am an admin of a hamster group on Facebook and I am making a chart of suitable cage options for North Americans. I noticed that you had a cage that was a rabbit/guinea pig cage that was covered in mesh to make it escape proof. May I please use a photo of it (with a credit to you of course) to make my list of examples? Thank you.

      • Hi again πŸ™‚ Thank you for allowing me to use a photograph. I have written what I think are the pros and cons of this sort of cage. Is this a fair assessment?

        Pros: Spacious. Excellent ventilation. Guinea pig and rabbit cages are easily found in pet stores. Minimal tools needed for converting the cage to become hamster-safe and escape proof.

        Cons: The bar spacing on these cages is large enough for a hamster to escape through, necessitating covering the cage by attaching hardware mesh with zip ties. May reduce visibility into the cage. Taller cages will need plenty of hammocks and ledges so that the hamster can’t fall from a great height at any point in the cage.

Leave a Reply

